Random thoughts from a random mind

I don't suffer from randomness… I, obviously, quite enjoy it!!

August – Things I know about this month

on August 14, 2013

I haven’t posted for a while so, as it’s August, I thought I’d tell you something about this month.

-0-

  • Although we know it as being the 8th month, in the Roman calendar it was the 6th and thus called Sextilis meaning 6th.
  • This month was called Weod Monath, weed month, by the Anglo-Saxons because it’s the month when weeds grow most quickly.
  • Two sayings for August are: ‘Dry August and warm doth harvest no harm’ and ‘If the first week of August be warm, the winter will be white and long’
  • The 1st August was the the opening day of the 11th Olympics in Berlin, 1936.
  •  On the 3rd August 1942, Christopher Columbus set sail on his first voyage. He went to the Canary Islands.
  • August 18th 1941, The National Fire Service was established in Britain
  • Francis Chichester sailed from PLYMOUTH on 27th August 1966 on, Gypsy Moth IV, and was the first successful person to sail around the world, single handedly. 

-0-

On a personal note; My daughter was born on the 29th August and, this year, she will no longer be a teenager.

That thought makes me feel sad and… old.

-0-

