Random thoughts from a random mind

I don't suffer from randomness… I, obviously, quite enjoy it!!

London Olympics 2012 – It’s all over…

on August 13, 2012

‘All good things come to an end,’

is what  they always say.

The joy, the sadness, bitterness too,

has touched the World,

and, maybe, touched you.

-0-

The nation has such talented beings,

from Michael Phelps to Bradley Wiggins.

I have been sat on the edge of my seat,

watching the rowers and cyclists,

bravely compete.

In fact,  there’s not a sport I didn’t watch,

I cheered on all the GB team,

and turned the sound up a notch.

They all did so well it would seem.

We were with you all the way.

I’d wished I was in the crowd,

but it wasn’t to be for your special day

Team GB made their country  feel proud.

-0-

I got to watch it all on TV

and in Plymouth on the Big Screen,

It meant everything to me,

 It made me feel like a Queen.

Now it seems like a lifetime away,

London Olympics is done,

What will I do with all my days?

Well I’ll be waiting for the next one.

-0-

 

The Paralympics will be with us soon,

29th August ’til September.

I know I’ll be there from morning ’til noon,

Well later too if I remember.

-0-

I love watching sports,

I used to take part.

Doesn’t matter which sorts,

They lift up my heart.

-0-

I have to say that the London Olympics 2012 were the best I’ve ever seen. The BBC did a very good job as did every commentator and presenter. The Olympians should feel so proud of themselves because they were truly an inspiration to future generations. They took defeat with grace, were supportive of each other and did GB proud.

-0-

Three Cheers For Team GB

4 responses to “London Olympics 2012 – It’s all over…

  1. dizzy says:

    That was AWESOME! I’m usually more into it. Not this year. Bigger fish… Glad you dug it and wrote this spectacular poem! 2 more years until the Winter Olymics. Think my ‘fish’ will be fried by then!

    Again, awesome poem! ❤ it! Hope you have a great day! 💋

    Like

Comments are closed.