Random thoughts from a random mind

I don't suffer from randomness… I, obviously, quite enjoy it!!

Andy Murray – you did your best.

on July 8, 2012

Andy Murray was beaten in four sets today in The Wimbledon Men’s Singles Final in front of  a packed centre court. This man had done his utmost in his fight to win but it didn’t pay off, this time. I watched with a friend from home and he did everything he could’ve to overcome the, now, 7th time winner, Roger Federer. He didn’t make it easy for the Swiss player winning the first set fairly easily.

Sue Barker talked to him after the match and I thought she was a bit mean to expect him to speak when he was obviously very emotional. However, he did talk, albeit tearfully, and he was very gracious in his defeat. 

He couldn’t look at his family, when he spoke, for fear of crying again. My heart went out to him and the crowd were emotional too. 

What struck me also was the way he still signed autographs for the many fans waiting by the exit. He gets such a bad press from the media and people who don’t even know him, yet he still shows grace and a great attitude towards sports. He is a great sportsman and a credit to his family and Great Britain.

I don’t think we’ll see the last of Andy Murray reaching the finals. In fact, now he has a taste for it, I’m sure he’ll go on to win next year.

One thing is for sure, I will be shouting, COME ON ANDY!

4 responses to “Andy Murray – you did your best.

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more, it was very emotional! I have enormous respect for him and his maturity at such a young age. Well done Andy you are a star! : )

    Like

    • Christine. says:

      Thanks for the comment. Didn’t he do well? Bless him. Yes we forget that he is still only 25. Not many people could perform in front of all those people at that age. I couldn’t even do it full stop. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.