Random thoughts from a random mind

I don't suffer from randomness… I, obviously, quite enjoy it!!

Armed Forces Day on Plymouth Hoe

on July 7, 2012

The Red Arrows Come into Plymouth

The Red Arrows fly past Smeaton’ s Tower

Flying low on Plymouth Hoe

Armed Forces Day is always a special day for the residents of Plymouth and the South West and this year’s was no different. We went to the Hoe on the Sunday which, fortunately, was sunny for a change. That was at the start of the day though. By the time I took these photos, the clouds had appeared and it started to rain with the arrival of my favourite air display team, the Red Arrows.

The rain didn’t dampen our spirits though and the thousands of people still on the Hoe at 5:35pm were not disappointed with the death defying antics of these superb pilots. I was so excited I missed a few shots. (I have to add that I used my phone to take these pictures as my partner’s batteries ran out in his camera.) Even so, I was pleased with the photos I captured.

The day was amazing because not only did we see Royalty and the PM, (Not that close), but we were entertained by a Madness tribute band, One Step Behind. As we are Madness fans and know all the words to all their hits, (don’t test me though) we felt superior to the people trying to sing along but didn’t know the words. (Well I did, a bit.) There were some adults in the crowd doing the Madness style dancing which was amusing to see as some of the guys were ‘of an age’ should I say in my polite fashion. They were slightly larger than Suggs when he performed the dance, which was alright because they were getting into the spirit. I loved watching them and having a giggle. They probably laughed at me too so that’s OK.

Our armed forces do a great job and I think we honoured them well.

One response to “Armed Forces Day on Plymouth Hoe

  1. […] Armed Forces Day on Plymouth Hoe (baarmychris.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Comments are closed.