Random thoughts from a random mind

I don't suffer from randomness… I, obviously, quite enjoy it!!

Who was the first to…?

on April 9, 2012

OK. We’ve all heard of that quote,”Who was the first person to milk a cow and what made them do it?”  Who had the idea that drinking cow’s milk was good for you?

Well I’ve been thinking of more things that could come into the category of  “Who was the first to…?” Be warned, because when I start thinking strange things happen. I’m not sure if any of this post will make sense but I’ll write it anyway.

I suppose I could type into any search engine to find out the answers to my questions but I thought I’d go back to the days before, Google, Yahoo, Ask Jeeves etc. (There are many more but you get the idea. I hope.) Incidentally, what did we do, before these search engines appeared, if we wanted to know the answer to a particular question? For me, it depended on the question. If I wanted to know who sang something from a particular decade, then I would ask Jackie, someone whom I work with and who is the equivalent to Google, in my eyes. The only problem was, that if it was a Friday I would have to wait until Monday to find out and, more often than not, I would have forgotten what I wanted to know. Any other questions and it be her again or Barrie, whom I also worked with and he just happened to have taught me at primary school. They’re both clever people and have brilliant memories. Anyway, there I go again, off track.

I was tapping out that chant often chanted at football matches, (obviously I can’t tap it out to you now but I can say it sounds like…Da Daa, Dit. Da Daa, Dit Da Da Daa Daa, Da Daa.) Did that make sense? Anyway who was the first to do that? Did it come from Morse Code do you think? I don’t know so if you do, could you click on Comment and tell me, please. Little things…

Who was the first person to decide to stuff a chicken? Why?

Let me tell you about me and chicken. Well any meat really. I’m ‘weird’ about touching raw meat. Even looking at a chicken before it gets stuffed fills me with dread. I’m not a vegetarian but I can’t face touching the stuff with my bare hands. A chicken, to me, looks a bit like a baby. I know that sounds really stupid, but it does, and NO my children don’t look like chickens, before you ask. Check out my, ‘Me and my family‘ page and decide for yourselves,  but don’t tell me if you think they do. Anyway, I have to either, get my partner to get the chicken ready for the oven or I have to wear gloves. Is that sad? I don’t think I’m the only one who does that though, so don’t worry.

Back to the post and I have completely lost the thread. I do that all the time. Forget what I’m talking about. For that reason I’m going to leave the ball in your court.

I challenge you to come up with some ‘Who was the first to do…?’ and let me know. There must be lots of you thinking just that now. (OK I doubt it very much but humor me please.) I’m not saying that I’ll know the answers but it will get me thinking…

