Random thoughts from a random mind

I don't suffer from randomness… I, obviously, quite enjoy it!!

Memories are made of this…

on April 8, 2012

As a child of the 70s, I can remember being sent to the shops to buy cigarettes for my father when it was possible to purchase them in singular quantities, if you so desired. I would’ve been sent with a note to Miltons (our local shop) to buy 10 Park Drive Plain, or fewer, and not a thing was said. You couldn’t do that now in the 21st century.

Whilst in the shop, I would drool over the many sweets on sale then. All of them in glass jars in a row in the window. You could buy them in quarter pounds, which for a youngster was just enough a whole day.  (Who am I kidding? They’d be eaten on the way home from the shops!) Where have they gone now?

Thanks to ebay.co.uk for this gift box

The sweets that I remember, that have disappeared as far as I know, are Spangles. These were fruit flavoured, boiled sweets and I loved them. I loved all the fruity sweets best.  Other sweets from my past are:

Dip dabs

Black Jacks

Sherbet, (especially the orange one. I used to dip in my finger and ate and ate it until my tongue cracked and my finger was as orange as an…orange. Sorry about the simile.) *Note to self,  find a better simile.

Marathons (Now Snickers)

Fruit salad chews (yum)

Cola Cubes

Lollipops covered in thick chocolate, (can’t remember their name but they were FAB)

Opal fruits (Now Starburst, I’m sorry No, No, No, They should’ve stayed   ‘Opal Fruits made to make your mouth water’

 Toffee pillows, toffee slabs, (My dad loved slabs of toffee even though he had no teeth, but had hard gums). I didn’t mean ‘hard gums’ sweets, (aka American Hard Gums).

Love Hearts, their captions have been updated to match txt messaging nowadays. They used to have sayings such as, ‘Be mine,  you’re sweet, I love You’ being  just a few that I remember.

As sold by sweetwonderland.co.uk

Sherbet Dip, sherbet pips and anything sherbety. Incidentally, just looked up ‘sherbet’ in the Oxford Concise English Dictionary, and found 4 definitions depending where you live.

  1. Brit – A flavoured sweet effervescent powder eaten alone or made into a drink.
  2. (Especially in Arab countries) a drink of sweet diluted fruit juices
  3. N. America –  water ice; sorbet
  4. Australian – humorous – beer  

* Just thought of another simile to describe how orange my finger was after eating sherbet, as orange as a carrot. That’s better isn’t it.

Also on sale were, Golf balls, Parma Violets, Bazooka Bubblegum, (They had a comic strip inside), Revels, Toffee Poppets, Rosy Apples, and many more. If you can think of any I’ve missed feel free to comment.

Bars of chocolate that have disappeared as far as I know are, Aztec bars, Bar six, Picnics, Fruit and Nut bar, Icebreakers which had mint chips in and Topics.

My partner reminded me that the TV advert for Topic was, ‘What has a hazelnut in every bite?’ And the answer would be shouted out, ‘Topic’  Unfortunately, he used to shout out, ‘Squirrel Sh*t.’ I say ‘unfortunately, because his parents would send him to his room or worse.

The adverts were memorable too. Who remembers, ‘Everyone’s a Fruit and Nut Case?’ or ‘A finger of Fudge is just enough to give your kids a treat?’ or ‘A Mars a day helps you work, rest and play?’  ”The Milky Bar kid is strong and tough, and only the best is good enough…’ (that one’s still going). I loved those adverts.

Not only have some of  these things been lost and forgotten but the chocolate products that survived have become smaller. I know people will say the usual thing, ‘they were bigger when you were a child but then you had smaller hands.’ I do agree with that but things like Wagon Wheels and Curly Wurlys have become smaller for sure, regardless of hand sizes.

I always hear myself saying, ‘Crikey! They’re not as big as they used to be! (  Unintentional innuendo) I say it quite a lot when it comes to chocolate bars. I feel cheated by the size compared to the price. However pricing is another issue, one that, once I get started, I could rant on about for days. I will spare you that because that’s another story…


                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      

2 responses to “Memories are made of this…

  1. forestfae says:

    My husband introduced me to cola bottles and Dib dabs. I’m not much of a sweet tooth, but I really like sherbet. Do you remember popping candy? or maybe you still get it these days? (I dont have kids so have no idea what sweets are out there, I only ever buy myself a ‘grown up dark chocolate’ very seldom.)

    My friends and I used to love popping candy, it was the one thing that was always guarentee to make us giggle helplessly as young kids 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.